Hide

A Detective Harriet Foster Thriller

Hide is an astonishing crime novel that broke my heart and then sewed it back together again, stronger than before… One of the best books I’ve read in years.
– Amazon bestselling author, Jess Lourey

Coming January 1, 2023

In Tracy Clark’s blistering new novel, Cassandra Raines, Chicago former homicide cop turned uncompromising private investigator searches for a runaway teen–and unearths a twisted world of misdirection and lies…

READ MORE …

Pre-order Now:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | BAM | IndieBound

Tracy Clark, Hide
Tracy Clark’s not-so-hidden talent is for conjuring characters who are engaging and achingly real. Detective Harri Foster is a stellar recruit to her new team and to our crime fiction shelves. Hide is a page-turner with heart.

— Lori Rader Day, award-winning author of Death At Greenway

More about Hide

When a young red-haired woman is found brutally murdered in downtown Chicago, one detail stands out: the red lipstick encircling her wrists and ankles.

Detective Harriet Foster is on the case, even though she’s still grieving the sudden death of her partner. As a Black woman in a male-dominated department, Foster anticipates a rocky road ahead acclimating to a new team―and building trust with her new partner isn’t coming easily.

After another victim turns up with the same lipstick markings, Foster suspects she’s looking for a serial killer. Through a tip from a psychiatrist, Foster learns about Bodie Morgan: a troubled man with a twisted past and a penchant for pretty young redheads with the bluest eyes. As Foster wades into Morgan’s sinister history, the killer continues their gruesome assault on Chicago’s streets.

In her desperate race to catch the murderer before they strike again, Foster will have to confront the darkest of secrets―including her own.

Praise For Tracy Clark

“Clark writes with purpose, her sense of social justice never venturing into dogma but remaining fully rooted in Raines’s actions and personality. She saves, but is no savior, because she operates in a world where survival is the benchmark, and pain remains in the aftermath.” — The New York Times

“Clark has a unique voice in the P.I. genre, one that is articulate, daring and ultimately hopeful.” — S.A. Cosby, Anthony-awarding winning writer, for The Washington Post

“This street-smart first mystery boasts great characterization and a terrific new protagonist. Get this writer on your radar now.”Booklist

“Engrossing and superbly written—I can’t say enough good things about Broken Places!” —Lisa Black, New York Times bestselling author of That Darkness and Unpunished

“Unforgettable. . . . Distinctive, vividly written characters lift this promising debut. Readers will be eager for the sequel.”Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“Clark’s compelling, suspenseful, and action-packed debut introduces a dogged, tough African American woman investigator who is complex and courageous and surrounded by a family of fascinating misfits. Fans of Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone or Sara Paretsky’s VI Warshawski will welcome Cass Raines to their ranks.”Library Journal (Starred Review)

Tracy Clark Accolades & Awards:

  • 2022 Edgar nomination for Best Short Story
  • 2022 win for the Sue Grafton Memorial Award
  • One of “Eight thrillers and mysteries to read this summer” 2021, Washington Post
  • Winner 2020 G.P. Putman & Sons Sue Grafton Memorial Award
  • Best New PI 2018, CrimeReads
  • One of Library Journal’s Best Books of 2018, Crime Fiction category
  • Short-listed in the mystery category on the American Library Association’s 2019 Reading List
  • Nominated for the 2018 Lefty Award for Best Debut Novel
  • Nominated for the 2019 Anthony Award for Best First Novel
  • Nominated for the 2019 Shamus Award for Best First PI Novel
  • Nominated for the 2020 Lefty Award for Best Mystery Novel

Broken Places has received both critical praise and award recognition, so it seems that Cass Raines – and Tracy Clark – are going to be part of the crime fiction community for some time. To read her is to be a fan of her, so do not waste another moment – read Tracy Clark’s Broken Places today.  – Kristopher Zgorski, BOLO Books

Cass Raines Chicago Mystery Series

Tracy Clark, Broken Places

Chicago Mystery #1

Tracy Clark, Borrowed Time
Chicago Mystery #2
Cass Raines- What You Don't See, by Tracy Clark
Chicago Mystery #3
Chicago Mystery #4
“You know those books that are wonderful, but that envy, the worm in the bud, makes you shy away from praising because you wish you’d created that prose or those insights? Runner by Tracy Clark. She understands the streets, kids, the way a PI and a cop really work. Kudos.”

— New York Times Bestselling author Sara Paretsky, author of the V.I. Warshawski series.

Read Tracy’s short story

For Services Rendered

in the anthology

Shades of Black: Crime and Mystery Stories by African-American Authors

“A dazzling collection of crime and mystery stories, Shades of Black is a landmark achievement. Bringing together today’s brightest talent from the field…” –Goodreads

For Services Rendered Cover
```