Runner

A Chicago Mystery #4

Coming June 29, 2021

In Tracy Clark’s blistering new novel, Cassandra Raines, Chicago former homicide cop turned uncompromising private investigator searches for a runaway teen–and unearths a twisted world of misdirection and lies…

READ MORE …

Pre-order Now:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | BAM
IndieBound | Hudson

Broken Places Book Cover Image 1
More about Runner

Chicago in the dead of winter can be brutal, especially when you’re scouring the frigid streets for a missing girl. Fifteen-year-old Ramona Titus has run away from her foster home. Her biological mother, Leesa Evans, is a recovering addict who admits she failed Ramona often in the past. But now she’s clean. And she’s determined to make up for her mistakes–if Cass can only help her find her daughter.

Cass visits Ramona’s foster mother, Deloris Poole, who is also desperate to bring the girl home. Ramona came to Deloris six months ago, angry and distrustful, but was slowly opening up. The police are on the search, but Cass has sources closer to the streets, and a network of savvy allies. Yet it seems Ramona doesn’t want to be found. And Cass soon begins to understand why.

Ramona is holding secrets dark enough to kill for, and anyone who helps her may be fair game. And if Ramona can’t run fast enough and hide well enough to keep the truth safe, she and Cass may both be out of time.

Praise For Tracy Clark

“This street-smart first mystery boasts great characterization and a terrific new protagonist. Get this writer on your radar now.”Booklist

“Engrossing and superbly written—I can’t say enough good things about Broken Places!” —Lisa Black, New York Times bestselling author of That Darkness and Unpunished

“Unforgettable. . . . Distinctive, vividly written characters lift this promising debut. Readers will be eager for the sequel.”Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“Clark’s compelling, suspenseful, and action-packed debut introduces a dogged, tough African American woman investigator who is complex and courageous and surrounded by a family of fascinating misfits. Fans of Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone or Sara Paretsky’s V.I Warshawski will welcome Cass Raines to their ranks.”Library Journal (Starred Review)

Broken Place has been mentioned as:

  • Winner 2020 G.P. Putman & Sons Sue Grafton Memorial Award

  • Best New PI 2018, CrimeReads

  • One of Library Journal’s Best Books of 2018, Crime Fiction category

  • Short-listed in the mystery category on the American Library Association’s 2019 Reading List

  • Nominated for the 2018 Lefty Award for Best Debut Novel

  • Nominated for the 2019 Anthony Award for Best First Novel

  • Nominated for the 2019 Shamus Award for Best First PI Novel

  • Nominated for the 2020 Lefty Award for Best Mystery Novel

Broken Places has received both critical praise and award recognition, so it seems that Cass Raines – and Tracy Clark – are going to be part of the crime fiction community for some time. To read her is to be a fan of her, so do not waste another moment – read Tracy Clark’s Broken Places today.  – Kristopher Zgorski, BOLO Books

Tracy Clark is a native Chicagoan who writes mysteries set in her hometown while working as an editor in the newspaper industry. She is a graduate of Mundelein College, where she earned a Bachelor of Arts degree, and the University of Illinois at Chicago, where she earned her MA.

Since reading her first Nancy Drew mystery, Tracy has dreamed of crafting mysteries of her own, mysteries that feature strong, intelligent, independent female characters, and those who share their world. Cass Raines, ex-cop turned intrepid PI, is such a character.

In addition to her Cass Raines novels, Tracy’s short story “For Services Rendered,” appears in the anthology “Shades of Black: Crime and Mystery Stories by African-American Authors.”

She is currently writing her next Cass Raines mystery and binge-watching “Game of Thrones”.

Tracy’s photo by Bauwerks

Read Tracy’s short story

For Services Rendered

in the anthology

Shades of Black: Crime and Mystery Stories by African-American Authors

“A dazzling collection of crime and mystery stories, Shades of Black is a landmark achievement. Bringing together today’s brightest talent from the field…” –Goodreads

For Services Rendered Cover

10 + 11 =

To prevent spam enter sum above.
```